Judge Timothy Dyk Receives American Inns of Court Award

By Tanya Roth, Esq. on May 11, 2012 | Last updated on March 21, 2019

The vote is in for the Federal Circuit's recipient of the Professionalism Award by the American Inns of Court.

The American Inns of Court Professionalism Award for 2012 goes to Federal Circuit Court of Appeals Judge Timothy B. Dyk.

The Award is given each year across the federal circuits to judges or lawyers whose lives and practices display "sterling character" and "unquestioned integrity," along with a dedication to high standards of the legal profession and the rule of law. The American Inns of Court has 350 chapters nationwide with over 28,000 members.

Judge Dyk was appointed to the Federal Circuit Court of Appeals in June of 2000. Prior to his appointment as judge, he was a partner and chair of Issues and Appeals at Jones Day.

He had also served as special assistant to Assistant Attorney General Louis F. Oderdorfer and as a law clerk to Chief Justice Earl Warren.

Dyk is a 1961 Harvard Law graduate. He has been committed to supporting education in the legal profession and has served as an adjunct professor of law at Yale, Georgetown, and University of Virginia.

Other 2012 recipients include attorney David Margolis of the D.C. Circuit, attorney John Ballentine for the Sixth Circuit, Attorney Russell Kenneth Scott for the Seventh Circuit, Judge Myron H. Bright of the Eighth Circuit and Judge Judith L. Haller of the Ninth Circuit.

Recipients will be recognized at the American Inns of Court's annual Celebration of Excellence in October.

Judge Dyk's award will be presented by Chief Judge Randall R. Rader and Judge Richard Linn later this month.

Related Resources:

Copied to clipboard