Driving While Texting Banned in North Carolina

By Kamika Dunlap on December 01, 2009 | Last updated on March 21, 2019

North Carolina now joins more than a dozen states that already ban texting while driving.

Starting Dec.1, the state's ban on sending text messages while driving goes into effect.

North Carolina drivers who text behind the wheel could owe $100 in fines.

The new legislation is a part of the latest effort by state lawmakers to combat distracted driving and prevent car accidents.

Lately we've seen much coverage of the dangers of texting while driving and many states have instituted a ban against it.

According to the Insurance Institute for Highway Safety (IIHS), the following new laws have been in effect since January:

  • All Driver Texting Banned: Arkansas, Utah, and Virginia
  • Texting by Young Drivers Banned: Kansas and Mississippi
  • Cell Phone Use by Young Drivers Banned: Arkansas and Kansas

As previously discussed in Findlaw's Common Law, about 97 percent of Americans support a ban on texting while driving, according to a recent New York Times/CBS News poll.

So, far Utah has passed the nation's toughest law to crack down on texting behind the wheel. Utah passed the law after a car crash killed two scientists. A New York Times article, reports that offenders in Utah now face up to 15 years in prison.

The federal government also is addressing the issue.

In September, a Summit to Tackle Dangers of Distracted Driving was held in Washington D.C. More than 250 safety experts, industry representatives, elected officials and members of the public came together to discuss ways to reduce distracted driving behavior and address the safety risk posed.

Research from the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration shows that the the worst offenders of texting while driving are the youngest drivers -- men and women under 20 years of age.

Copied to clipboard